samedi 11 juin 2016

UEFA Euro Championship lineups through history (2000)

Tournament played in the Netherland in Amsterdam, Rotterdam (Final), Eindhoven, Arnhem. And in Belgium in Brussels, Bruges, Charleroi and Liège.

16 teams.

Winner, France :

+ Pirès, Wiltord and Trezeguet (all forwards and all decisive in the Final) and Anelka (another forward), author of a good tournament but who did not score (and did not play in the Final).

Runner-up, Italy :

Italy 2000

Zambrotta was suspended (Pessotto).

Semi-finalists :

Portugal (beaten by the eventual champion, France), presented as they lined against Turkey in the quarter-finals :

Portugal 2000
+ Secretario (RB), Beto (DF, MF), Abel Xavier (DF, played in the semis against France instead of P. Bento), Sa Pinto (FWD) and Paulo Sousa (MF). Usually, Portugal played with two forwards before the semi-finals. They were J.V Pinto (mainly) and Sa Pinto (more a right forward). We can say that Sa Pinto was replaced by Conceição, since the last group game (Germany, 3-0, hat-trick by Conceição).

The Netherlands (beaten by Italy in a penalty shoot-out after a 0-0) :

The Netherlands 2000
Numan (more known as a centre back) played in a last match of group against France and in the quarter-finals. After two games as a starter in the group stage, Reiziger never appeared again (replaced by Bosveldt, usually a midfielder, since the last game of group against France). This illustrates well the legendary versatility of the Dutch  players, but also their recurrent problems in defense.

Aucun commentaire :

Publier un commentaire